RUM: About our University

About our University

The University of Puerto Rico is a well established and mature institution, with a total enrollment of over 69,000 students. The University consists of the Mayagüez Campus, the Medical Sciences Campus, and the Río Piedras Campus, which are dedicated to both undergraduate and graduate education; and the Colleges at Aguadilla, Arecibo, Bayamón, Carolina, Cayey, Humacao, Ponce, and Utuado which provide undergraduate education. Each autonomous institutional unit has a Chancellor as chief administrator and academic officer .

Our history

Meet the university:

Mission and Goals

Within the philosophical framework established by the University of Puerto Rico Act, the Mayagüez campus directs its efforts towards the development of educated, cultured citizens, capable of critical thinking, and professionally qualified in the fields of agricultural, social and natural sciences, engineering, humanities and business administration. They should be able to contribute in an efficient manner to the cultural, social, and economic development of the Puerto Rican and international communities. This process is aimed at endowing our alumni with a strong technical and professional background and instill a strong commitment to Puerto Rico and our hemisphere.

Our alumni should have the necessary skills and knowledge to participate effectively in the search of solutions to the problems facing us, to promote the enrichment of the arts and culture, the development and transfer of technology as well to uphold the essential attitudes and values of a democratic society.

Accreditations and Affiliations

The Mayagüez Campus of the University of Puerto Rico is fully accredited by the Council of Higher Education of Puerto Rico. It holds membership in the Middle States Commission on Higher Education since 1946. It is also a member of the Association of HispanicAmerican Universities. Our academic programs are accredited by professional entities such as The American Chemical Society, The National League of Nursing, and Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology (ABET).

The Mayagüez Campus of the University of Puerto Rico is a member of Oak Ridge Associated Universities (ORAU) since 1966. ORAU is a private, non-profit consortium of 65 colleges and universities that acts as management and operating contractor for the US Department of Energy (DOE).

Contact Us


P.O Box 9000
University of Puerto Rico at Mayagüez
Calle Post, Mayagüez, P.R. 00681-9000

Main Telephone: (787) 832-4040

Admissions   x2400 , x2412
Chancellors Office   x3131, x3139
Dean of Administration   x2020, x2024
Dean of Accademic Affairs   x3582, x3807
Dean of Students   x3862,3250
Registrar's Office   x3813, x3284
Clinic, Medical Services   x3722 Emergency x2323
Financial Aid   x3863
Press and Communications   x3879, x2332
Campus Security   x3263, x3872, x2458, x3538
College of Arts & Sciences   x3828, x3033
College of Business Administration   x3800, x3804
College of Agricultural Sciences   x3850,x2181
College of Engineering   x3822, x3504
Research and Development Center   (787) 831-2065, x5250, 5213
Agricultural Extension Service   (787) 265-4130, x3592
Agricultural Experiment Station   (787) 833-7765, x3899
Sea Grant   (787) 265-2880, x2165
Seismic Network   (787) 833-8433, x5452
Center for Economical Development   (787) 833-4445, x3613