Student Council Instated

By Graciela M. Muñiz Translated by Tia Gilson

For the eighth consecutive year in a row, the Student Council (CGE by its Spanish acronym) of the University of Puerto Rico at Mayagüez (UPRM), was instated for the new academic year 2008-09. The aim of this organization is to encourage the exchange of ideas, the creation of constructive conversation, and to over see various matters and services that affect the UPRM Community.

UPRM's Chancellor, Dr. Jorge Iván Vélez Arocho, stated that the ratification of this year's Student Council is owed to past leaders who have managed to motivate students, and help them recognize the importance of serving not only their peers or the factions they represent, but also UPRM in general.

He added that student council members expressed their desire to contribute in developing the University's agenda, especially in the areas of teaching, investigation, and distribution.

Vélez Arocho recommend they promote "a spirit of collaboration, solidarity, and exchange that is necessary within the University, so that it may serve as a valuable life experience, as we all hope it does."

The Dean of Students, Dr. Víctor Siberio, also shared the vision, he believes, that the student council will need to use in order to achieve its goals. "If we worry about one another, then we won't think that it's someone else's problem, but everyone's problem, and by thinking this way, many things can be resolved," emphasized Siberio.

The new CGE President, Xavier García, from Agricultural Sciences, added that at the meeting where council members were chosen, each person emphasized their commitment to the different positions they would occupy.

The selection of council members was done for the fifth consecutive time by electronic vote, to ensure the participation of UPRM students in the event.

Fifteen young men and women were chosen to represent their departments, as part of different committees, at the Academic Senate and at the Administrative Council, with the intention of promoting the development of institutional policies, that will benefit the UPRM Community.

The Student Council is composed of García as its President, Ashley Rodríguez Santiago (Arts and Sciences) as Vice President, Sonimí Y. González Candelaria (ADEM), Raymond J. Andújar Cruz (ADEM), Karlai Acevedo Sánchez (Agricultural Sciences), Kisany Y. Soler Massol (Arts and Sciences), and Félix D. Oritz Colón (Engineering, who will be the secretaries for Correspondence, Acts, Finances, and Press, respectively.

Other members of the council include: Alfonso González Díaz (Arts and Sciences), Edgardo Román Afanador (Engineering), Erik E. Torres (ADEM), Franchesca M. Santiago (Engineering), Francisco Zayas (Arts and Sciences), José J. Lamas (Arts and Sciences), Yaritza H. Pérez Bermúdez (Engineering), Gamaliel Valentín Rodríguez (Agricultural Sciences), Jenny J. Rodríguez Martínez (ADEM), Rogelio E. Cardona Rivera (Engineering) and Dilia Acosta Torres (Representative of the University Council).

The inauguration was attended by directors from departments of the Dean of Students, including, the Dean of Engineering, Dr. Ramón Vásquez; the Dean of Arts and

Sciences, Moisés Orengo; and the Dean of Agricultural Sciences, Dr. John Fernández

Van Cleve; among other University faculty members. The Associate Dean of Students,

Salvador Cortés Rivera, acted as master of ceremonies of the activity.