University of Puerto Rico Mayagüez Campus

112 years of educational excellence

Our Vision

“To be a leading institution in higher education and research, transforming society through the pursuit of knowledge in an environment of ethics, justice, and peace.”

Our Mission

“To provide excellent service to Puerto Rico and to the world:

  • Forming educated, cultured, capable, critical thinking citizens professionally prepared in the fields of agricultural sciences, engineering, arts, sciences, and business administration so they may contribute to the educational, cultural, social, technological and economic development.
  • Performing creative work, research and service to meet society’s needs and to make available the results of these activities.

We provide our students with the skills and sensitivity needed to effectively resolve problems and to exemplify the values and attitudes that should prevail in a democratic society that treasures and respects diversity.”

About UPRM

The Campus is part of the University of Puerto Rico (UPR) system. It has four academic units: the Colleges of Agricultural Sciences, Engineering, Arts and Sciences, and Business Administration. The College of Agricultural Sciences includes the Agricultural Experiment Station and the Agricultural Extension Service, which is a community service unit. It also has a Division of Continuing Education and Professional Studies.