Faculty Directory

Photo of Professor Ernesto Balay

Balay, Ernesto MS

Instructor
Environmental Geology

Contact e-mail:

ernesto.balay@upr.edu

Office

FISI-401

Phone: (787) 832-4040

Ext. 3591

Photo of Doctor Fernando Gilbes

Gilbes, Fernando Ph.D.

Arts & Sciences
Faculty Dean/Professor

Environmental Remote Sensing

Contact e-mail:

fernando.gilbes@upr.edu

Office:

FISI-411

Phone: (787) 832-4040

Ext. 3000

Photo of Doctor Victor Huérfano

Huérfano, Victor Ph.D.

Director of Puerto Rico
Seismic Network
Researcher

Contact e-mail:

victor@prsnmail.uprm.edu

Office:

D Building

Phone: (787) 833-8433

Ext. 2000-2702

Photo of Doctor Tom Hudgins

Hudgins, Thomas R. Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Petrology and Geochemistry

Contact e-mail:

thomas.hudgins@upr.edu

Office:

FISI 416

Phone: (787) 832-4040

Ext. 3541

Photo of Doctor Kenneth Stephen Hughes

Hughes, K. Stephen Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Tectonic Geology, Geochronology, Geochemistry, Structural Geology

Office:

FISI 414

Phone: (787) 832-4040

Ext. 2706

Photo of Doctor James Joyce

Joyce, James PH.D.

Professor
Engineering Geology, Structural Geology

Contact e-mail:

james.joyce@upr.edu

Office:

FISI-409

Phone: (787) 832-4040

Ext. 3391

Photo of Doctor Alberto López

López, Alberto Ph.D.

Administrative Coordinator/Professor
Seismotectonics, Geodesy

Contact e-mail:

alberto.lopez3@upr.edu

Office:

FISI-417B

Phone: (787) 832-4040

Ext. 2704

Photo of Doctor Raiza Quintero

Quintero, Raiza Ph.D.

Professor
Geochemistry

Minerology
Planetary Geology

Contact e-mail:

raiza.quintero@upr.edu

LINKED:

Office:

FISI-415

Phone: (787) 832-4040

Ext. 3004

Photo of Doctor Wilson Ramírez

Ramírez, Wilson R. Ph.D.

Administrative Coordinator/Professor
(Dr. Ramirez’s Curriculum Vitae)

Carbonate Petrology, Coastal Geology, Reefs

Contact e-mail:

wilson.ramirez1@upr.edu

Marine Geology

Research Webpage

Office:

FISI-410

Phone: (787) 832-4040

Ext. 3575

Photo of Doctor Lizzette Rodríguez

Rodríguez, Lizzette Ph.D.

Departmental Director/
Professor
Volcanology, Volcanic Hazards

Contact e-mail:

lizzette.rodriguez1@upr.edu

Office:

FISI-412

Phone: (787) 832-4040

Ext. 3583

Photo of Doctor Hernan Santos

Santos, Hernán Ph.D.

Professor
Paleontology, Stratigraphy, Regional Geology

Office:

FISI-408

Phone: (787) 832-4040

Ext. 3545

Photo of Doctor Elizabeth Vanacore

Vanacore, Elizabeth Ph.D.

Associate Researcher (PRSN)

Contact e-mail:

elizabeth.vanacore@upr.edu

Office:

PRSN
D Building

Phone: (787) 833-8433

Exts. 2700-2702