• The Industry Advisory Board (IAB) is an external volunteer consultative group comprised of different companies who support the College of Engineering School (CoE) at the University of Puerto Rico Mayagüez (UPRM).
  • The board serves a critical role of linking the school’s strategic objectives and activities with the interests of external constituents and industry groups.
  • The IAB offers guidance and support consistent with the CoE’s mission and objectives.
  • Membership is a voluntary contribution.


    • Advising and assisting on academic and professional matters.
    • Providing input on current trends in the industry.
    • Identifying necessary skills and areas of interest for curriculum development.
    • Promoting and enhancing the quality of the programs.
    • Identifying projects and funding sources.


    • Participate in at least two (2) meetings per year, virtually and/or in person.
    • Provide counsel concerning the CoE’s priorities and goals
    • Serve as a sounding board and provide feedback on the contributions of the university in relation to the needs of the industry.
    • Serve as an advocate within their company by championing new initiatives, making the school’s work more widely known, identifying and recruiting board members and providing opportunities for students and faculty such as internships, facility tours and research grants.

    Alba Lynnette Colón Rodriguez (President)
    Hendrick Motorsports
    (INME ’93)

    Alexis Perez Orona
    Rock Solid Technologies

    Ana Simonato

    Angel Crespo
    L3Harris Technologies Company
    (INEL ’97)

    Carmen M. Mendez Cruz
    Sandia National Laboratories (ININ ’99)

    Francisco A. Barillas (Secretary)
    Vectoral Data Corporation

    Humberto Mercader
    Department of Economic Development and Commerce (INEL ’96)

    Jaime Benitez
    Medtronic PR Operations (INME ’93)

    José Antonio Hiraldo Galarza
    Nemar Technology Group
    (INME ’88)

    José M Rodriguez

    José Sanchez
    US Army Corps of Engineers

    Juan E. Figueroa
    Puerto Rico Science, Technology & Research Trust

    Juan Carlos Guerra
    DXC Technology, Consulting Division

    Julio J. Cartagena
    Hewlett Packard Enterprise (INQU ’96)

    Julio F. Lara
    U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, Region IV

    Juan F. López Sanchez, PE
    IBM Corporation (INME ’98)

    Kenan D Davila
    Sargent & Lundy Puerto Rico (INEL ’07)

    Marcelino Beltrán, PE
    Boston Scientific, Co. (INME ’99)

    Magaly Soto Arce
    General Motors (INME ’07)

    Maximo Torres
    Maximo Solar Industries

    Miguel Alemañy
    Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers (INQU)

    Oscar A. Ruiz Cortes
    Procter & Gamble
    (INME ’03)

    Pedro Nieves
    Lockheed Martin Global Inc. (INME ’96)

    Rey Almodóvar
    Intuitive Research and Technology (ININ ’84)

    Shakira Pastrana-Naumann
    The Boeing Company (ININ ’04)

    Shandalai Jimenez
    AbbVie (INEL ’02)

    Toly M. Diana Cintron
    Raytheon Technologies