About us

University of Puerto Rico

Founded in 1903, The University of Puerto Rico (UPR) is the oldest university education system in Puerto Rico. Nowadays, the UPR consists of 11 precincts accredited by the “Council of Higher Education” of Puerto Rico and the “Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools”. It offers the most complete undergraduate and graduate curricula in Puerto Rico, with three campuses (Rio Piedras, Ciencias Médicas and Mayagüez) offering doctoral programs and the opportunity to conduct research. The UPR is one of the most dynamic and cultural academic centers in Latin America.

The University of Puerto Rico, Mayaguez, with over 107 years of excellency

The University of Puerto Rico in Mayagüez (UPRM) was established in 1911. It has four academic units: The Faculties of Business Administration, Arts & Sciences, Agricultural Sciences and Engineering. Our campus includes the Agricultural Experiment Station and the Agricultural Extension Service, which is a service unit to the community. In addition, it has a Division of Continuing Education and Professional Studies.

The City of Mayaguez

The city of Mayagüez was founded in 1760 and is located on the west coast of Puerto Rico. The city has approximately 150,000 inhabitants. Its climate is moderate during the year, with a temperature of 82°F (28°C). In cold seasons temperatures can reach 68°F (23°C) and days in summer 93°F (32°C). A lightweight “coat” is optional in winter and light clothing for the rest of the year.

Some of the attractions that Mayagüez has include the Juan A. Rivero Zoo, the Park of the Próceres, the Yagüez Theater, the Botanical Garden of the “Tropical Agricultural Research Station”. In addition, it has a vibrant nightlife. Water sports such as swimming, surfing, jet-skiing, scuba diving and sailing are part of the daily activity for many residents, given its proximity to the coast and access to a large number of beaches.

Graduate Studies Office

The Mayagüez campus wants to attract the best graduate students from Puerto Rico and countries in Latin America. The office located in the Celis building (C-111) is responsible for informing the academic community about the regulations on graduate studies at the campus and important events related to them. The office coordinates and organizes the admission and enrollment process for new graduate students, professional development students and exchange students. In addition, since December 2003, the graduate studies office has published electronically all the theses and dissertations of graduate students of UPRM.

57 Graduate Programs

The University of Puerto Rico, Mayaguez Campus (UPRM) 28 departments that offers a total of 48 master’s programs and doctorates. Six academic degrees are conferred: Master of Business Administration (M.B.A.), Master of Arts (M.A.), Master of Science (M.S.), Master of Engineering (M.E.), Master of Professional Studies (M.P.) and Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.). A master’s degree can include a thesis, a project, or it can be without thesis or project.